Wisconsin Idea

Monday, February 26, 2018

3:30-4:30 p.m.

Sustainable Energy Seminar Series: Nuclear Fusion Research at the University of Wisconsin

The Present and The Terrestrial, The Future and the Extra-Terrestrial

1115 Wisconsin Energy Institute

4:45 p.m.

"Groundbreaking Discoveries in CALS" Public Seminar Series

“The Beginnings of WARF, the Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation” Kevin Walters, History of Science

1111 Genetics-Biotechnology Center Building

Tuesday, February 27, 2018

7-8:30 p.m.

Kiribati: Voices From the Last Generation

Film and panel on environmental issues in Peace Corps countries

Marquee Theater, Union South

7-8:30 p.m.

A Conversation about Russian Influence in U.S. Elections

UW-Madison Faculty Panel Discussion

325/326, Pyle Center

Wednesday, February 28, 2018

Noon-1:30 p.m.

Early Childhood Research in Action

How to Connect with Policymakers and Make a Difference

Plenary Hall (5th Floor), Nancy Nicholas Hall

7-8:15 p.m.

Wednesday Nite @ the Lab

"The Evolution of the Chicken" by Mark Berres

1111 Genetics-Biotechnology Center Building

Thursday, March 01, 2018

9-11:30 a.m.

Birds and Climate Change

Arboretum Winter Enrichment Lecture

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

2:15-4:15 p.m.

Open House at Peace Corps

It's Peace Corps Week!

260 Bascom Hall

4:45 p.m.

"Groundbreaking Discoveries in CALS" Public Seminar Series

“WARF, the UW and the Nation,” C. Gulbrandsen, WARF

1111 Genetics-Biotechnology Center Building

Friday, March 02, 2018

9:30 a.m.

Waisman Center Grandparent's Network Monthly Coffee

A community of support for grandparents of children and adults with disabilities

11 a.m.-2 p.m.

"Green Fire" Brown Bag Lunch

Arboretum Special Event

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

Saturday, March 03, 2018

10 a.m.-noon

Saturday Science at Discovery

The Science of Color

Town Center, Discovery Building

1-4 p.m.

Masterclass: Winter Fruit Pruning

West Madison Research Station

Sunday, March 04, 2018

1-2:30 p.m.

In Leopold’s Footsteps

Arboretum Walk

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

1:30-3:30 p.m.

Celebrating Aldo Leopold

Arboretum Family Nature Program

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

4-7 p.m.

Madison Audubon Society-Mark Martin

Snowy Owl Program

Arlington Public Events Building

Monday, March 05, 2018

4:45 p.m.

"Groundbreaking Discoveries in CALS" Public Seminar Series

"Animal Viruses and Diseases,” Bernard Easterday, dean emeritus, School of Veterinary Medicine

1111 Genetics-Biotechnology Center Building

Wednesday, March 07, 2018

6:30 p.m.

Science on Tap - Minocqua

The Art of Communicating Science

Minocqua Brewing Company, 238 Lakeshore Dr, Minocqua, WI 54548

7-8:15 p.m.

Wednesday Nite @ the Lab

"Early Brain and Child Development and the Future of Society" by Dr. Dipesh Navsaria

1111 Genetics-Biotechnology Center Building

7-8:30 p.m.

Science on Tap–Madison

Can We Grow Food on Mars?

Nomad World Pub, Madison, 418 E Wilson Street

Thursday, March 08, 2018

4:45 p.m.

"Groundbreaking Discoveries in CALS" Public Seminar Series

“Johne’s Disease,” Michael Collins, professor, pathobiological sciences

1111 Genetics-Biotechnology Center Building

Monday, March 12, 2018

4:45 p.m.

"Groundbreaking Discoveries in CALS" Public Seminar Series

“Dietary Minerals,” Roger Sunde, professor emeritus, nutritional sciences

1111 Genetics-Biotechnology Center Building

Wednesday, March 14, 2018

7-8:15 p.m.

Wednesday Nite @ the Lab

"The Marvels of Medieval Medicine" by Walt Schalick

1111 Genetics-Biotechnology Center Building

Wednesday, March 21, 2018

7-8:15 p.m.

Wednesday Nite @ the Lab

"Solving Real-World Optimization Problems" by Laura Albert

1111 Genetics-Biotechnology Center Building

Thursday, March 22, 2018

4:45 p.m.

"Groundbreaking Discoveries in CALS" Public Seminar Series

“Fungal Pathogens,” Greg Gauthier, professor, medicine

1111 Genetics-Biotechnology Center Building

Wednesday, March 28, 2018

7-8:15 p.m.

Wednesday Nite @ the Lab

"Improving the Practice of Pain Management" by June Dahl

1111 Genetics-Biotechnology Center Building

Friday, April 06, 2018
Saturday, April 07, 2018
Sunday, April 08, 2018
Thursday, April 12, 2018

All day

2018 Summit on Women, Gender and Well-being

Our Bodies, Our Earth: Voice, Violence, and Peacemaking

Pyle Center

Saturday, April 14, 2018

9 a.m.-4 p.m.

HortiCULTURAL Landscapes Symposium

Allen Centennial Garden Symposium

Mendota Room , Dejope Residence Hall

Friday, April 27, 2018
Friday, May 04, 2018

5-8 p.m.

Best Friday Ever.: MMoCA Gallery Night

Allen Centennial Garden

Sunday, May 06, 2018

9 a.m.-1 p.m.

UW Family Gardening Day

Allen Centennial Garden

Saturday, August 04, 2018

9 a.m.-1 p.m.