Science

Saturday, October 07, 2017

9 a.m.-noon

Ecological Restoration Work Party

Arboretum Wingra Oak Savanna

Meet at Wingra Springs parking lot (Arbor Dr, off Monroe St), UW-Madison Arboretum

1-3:30 p.m.

Fungi—Food for Thought

Arboretum Class

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

1-3 p.m.

Fall Favorites

Arboretum Longenecker Horticultural Garden Tour

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

6-7:30 p.m.

By the Light of the Harvest Moon

Arboretum Night Walk

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

Sunday, October 08, 2017

1-2:30 p.m.

Woodlands

Arboretum Walk

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

1:30-2:30 p.m.

Why Do Leaves Change Color?

Arboretum Family Walk

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

Monday, October 09, 2017
Wednesday, October 11, 2017

9 a.m.-noon

Thursday, October 12, 2017

3-4 p.m.

Environment & Sustainability

Majors & Careers that Make a Difference

114 Ingraham Hall

Friday, October 13, 2017

1:30-3 p.m.

Writing Center Workshop

Creating Research Posters, Part 1

Writing Center Commons, Helen C. White Hall

Saturday, October 14, 2017

9 a.m.-noon

Ecological Restoration Work Party

Core Area and Curtis Prairie

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

1-3 p.m.

Wisconsin Bats and How to Help Them

Arboretum Class

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

1-3 p.m.

Conifers

Arboretum Longenecker Horticultural Garden Tour

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

Sunday, October 15, 2017

1-3:30 p.m.

Trees and Shrub Identification

Arboretum Class

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

1-2:30 p.m.

Autumn Woodlands

Arboretum Walk

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

Monday, October 16, 2017

Noon-1:30 p.m.

Writing Center Workshop

Five Secrets for Writing a Successful Undergraduate Lab Report

6176 Helen C. White Hall

3:30-4:30 p.m.

Biochemistry Colloquium

A Quantitative-biology Approach to Dissecting Bacterial Responses to Antibiotics

1211 DeLuca Biochemical Sciences Building

Wednesday, October 18, 2017

3-4 p.m.

Energetic About the Environment

Careers in Clean Energy

114 Ingraham Hall

7:30-9 p.m.

Light of the Moon Homecoming 5k

If you want to be a badger, just run along with us!

Lakeshore Path

Thursday, October 19, 2017

5 p.m.

Saturday, October 21, 2017

9 a.m.-noon

Help care for the UW Lakeshore Nature Preserve

Meet at UW parking lot 129 at the entrance to Picnic Point

9 a.m.-noon

Ecological Restoration Work Party

Arboretum Grady Tract

Meet at Grady Tract parking lot (SE corner Seminole Hwy & W Beltline Frontage Rd), UW-Madison Arboretum

Sunday, October 22, 2017

1-2:30 p.m.

Red Lanterns

Arboretum Walk

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

1:30-3:30 p.m.

Colors of Nature

Arboretum Family Nature Program

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

Monday, October 23, 2017

3:30-4:30 p.m.

Biochemistry Colloquium

Discovery of Gut-Based Therapeutics for the Treatment of Diabetes, Obesity, and Beyond

1211 DeLuca Biochemical Sciences Building

Thursday, October 26, 2017

3-5 p.m.

Writing Center Workshop

The Basics of APA Documentation

6176 Helen C. White Hall

Friday, October 27, 2017

2-4 p.m.

Introduction to Geographic Information Systems (GIS)

Mapping Census data with ArcGIS 10.4

380 Science Hall

Saturday, October 28, 2017

9 a.m.-noon

Ecological Restoration Work Party

Arboretum Core Area and Curtis Prairie

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

Sunday, October 29, 2017

1-3:30 p.m.

Getting Lost in the City

Arboretum Walk

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

Monday, October 30, 2017

3:30-5 p.m.

Writing Center Workshop

On the Academic Job Market: Writing Statements of Current and Future Research

6176 Helen C. White Hall

Wednesday, November 01, 2017

Noon-1:30 p.m.

Writing Center Workshop

Researching and Writing Literature Reviews in the Sciences

105 Steenbock Library

Thursday, November 02, 2017

All day

2017 Hancock Potato Variety Harvest Expo

Hancock Ag Research Station

3:30-4:30 p.m.

Biology Colloquium: Carlos Eduardo Santibáñez López

The evolution of the peptide calcin family in Scorpion venom through a phylogenomic spyglass

B302 Birge Hall

Saturday, November 04, 2017

9 a.m.-noon

Help care for the UW Lakeshore Nature Preserve

Meet at Frautschi Point parking lot (3034 Lake Mendota Drive). On 80 bus route.

Monday, November 06, 2017

3:30-4:30 p.m.

Biochemistry Colloquium

Design of Reprogrammed and New Molecular and Cellular Functions

1211 DeLuca Biochemical Sciences Building