Iris

Tuesday, April 10, 2018

12:30-1:30 p.m.

Wednesday, April 11, 2018

11 a.m.-1 p.m.

Thursday, April 12, 2018

Noon-1 p.m.

Center for South Asia Weekly Lecture Series

"Power Play in the Formation of the Sikh Canon" Pashaura Singh (Professor, Sikh and Punjabi Studies, University of California, Riverside)

206 Ingraham Hall

1-3 p.m.

4-5:30 p.m.

CREECA Spring Lecture Series

Why is Right-Wing Populism Stronger in Eastern Europe than in the West?

206 Ingraham Hall

Monday, April 16, 2018

Noon-1 p.m.

Middle East Studies Lecture Series

Katrina Daly Thompson: "Categorizing Muslims: Tactics of Intersubjectivity in a Progressive Muslim Community of Practice"

206 Ingraham Hall

Tuesday, April 17, 2018
Wednesday, April 18, 2018

11 a.m.-1 p.m.

Thursday, April 19, 2018

Noon-1 p.m.

Center for South Asia Weekly Lecture Series

"Melancholia and Melodrama: Approaching Indian Film History through Cinematic Lives of Devdas" Rini Bhattacharya Mehta (Assistant Professor, Comparative and World Literatures, University of Illinois)

206 Ingraham Hall

3-5 p.m.

4-5:30 p.m.

Friday, April 20, 2018

Noon-1:30 p.m.

Center for Southeast Asian Studies Friday Forum Lecture Series

Erik Kuhonta, "Socializing the Middle Class in Southeast Asia"

206, Ingraham Hall

Tuesday, April 24, 2018

12:30-1:30 p.m.

Women in Contemporary Latin American Novel. Psychoanalysis and Gendered Violence

Presented by: Beatriz Botero, Comparative Literature and Folklore Studies, UW.

206 Ingraham Hall

Wednesday, April 25, 2018

11 a.m.-1 p.m.

Thursday, April 26, 2018

Noon-1 p.m.

Center for South Asia Weekly Lecture Series

“A Garland of Songs: Radio Ceylon and the Making of a Hindi Film Audience” Isabel Huacuja Alonso (Assistant Professor, History, California State University, San Bernardino)

206 Ingraham Hall

3-5 p.m.

4-5:30 p.m.

CREECA Spring Lecture Series

Writing an Integrated History of Central Asia: The Pleasures and Perils of Thinking Across the Russian-Chinese Imperial Boundary

206 Ingraham Hall

Friday, April 27, 2018

Noon-1:30 p.m.

Center for Southeast Asian Studies Friday Forum Lecture Series

Bruce Shoemaker, "Dead in the Water: The World Bank's Model Hydropower Project in Laos"

206, Ingraham Hall

Monday, April 30, 2018

Noon-1 p.m.

Middle East Studies Lecture Series

Ahmed El Shamsy: "Islamic reform and print, 1880-1920"

206 Ingraham Hall

Tuesday, May 01, 2018

12:30-1:30 p.m.

At the Mountains Altar. Anthropology of Religion in an Andean Community.

Presented by: Frank Salomon, Professor Emeritus of Anthropology, UW.

206 Ingraham Hall

Wednesday, May 02, 2018

11 a.m.-1 p.m.

Thursday, May 03, 2018

3-5 p.m.

Wednesday, May 09, 2018

11 a.m.-1 p.m.

Thursday, May 10, 2018

3-5 p.m.

Wednesday, May 16, 2018

11 a.m.-1 p.m.

Thursday, May 17, 2018

3-5 p.m.