Science

Today, October 24, 2014
Saturday, October 25, 2014

9 a.m.-noon

Arboretum Ecological Restoration Work Party

Core Area and Curtis Prairie

Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

2-3 p.m.

“Living with the Land” Author Series

Arboretum Special Event

Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

Sunday, October 26, 2014

12:30-3:30 p.m.

Bats, Spiders, and the Wise Old Owl

Earth Partnership for Families

Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

1-2:30 p.m.

Arboretum Walk

Autumn Woodlands

Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

Monday, October 27, 2014

3:30 p.m.

Contemporary Biochemistry

Small Quantum Dots for Nanometer Accuracy and Resolution on Molecular Motors and Living Neurons

1211 DeLuca Biochemical Sciences Building

Tuesday, October 28, 2014

Noon-1 p.m.

Astronomy Department Whitford Lecture

"Heart of Darkness" Jeremiah Ostriker, Columbia University

145 Birge Hall

Wednesday, October 29, 2014

7:30 a.m.

2014 Energy Summit

Global Energy Outlook: Meeting Needs for Future Cities and Communities

Discovery Building and Union South

7 p.m.

Wednesday Nite @ The Lab

Anthropological Explorations of the Rising Star Cave in South Africa

1111 Genetics-Biotechnology Center Building

Thursday, October 30, 2014

3:30 p.m.

Biology Colloquium

Polyploidy and the origins of novelty: impact of duplications on genome and network evolution

B302 Birge Hall

4 p.m.

Neuroscience Lecture Series

The neural correlates of consciousness in sleep: a high-density EEG study

John D. Wiley Conference Center, Waisman Center

Saturday, November 01, 2014

10 a.m.-noon

Saturday Science at Discovery

Harnessing the Elements

Town Center, Discovery Building

Monday, November 03, 2014

3:30 p.m.

Contemporary Biochemistry

Molecular Mechanisms of Microtubule-based Intracellular Transport

1211 DeLuca Biochemical Sciences Building

4-5 p.m.

Tuesday, November 04, 2014

Noon-1 p.m.

Chaos and Complex Systems Seminar

Organic chromophores for optoelectronic devices

4274 Chamberlin Hall

Wednesday, November 05, 2014

11 a.m.-noon

Cancer Biology Seminar

Oncogenic Activities of Human Papillomaviruses

1345 Health Sciences Learning Center

7 p.m.

Wednesday Nite @ The Lab

Tracking Microbes in Wisconsin Groundwater

1111 Genetics-Biotechnology Center Building

Thursday, November 06, 2014

3:30 p.m.

Biology Colloquium

Environmentally Induced Epigenetic Transgenerational Inheritance of Disease: Ancestral Ghosts in Your Genome

B302 Birge Hall

Monday, November 10, 2014

3:30 p.m.

Contemporary Biochemistry

Harnessing Actin Dynamics for Endocytic Trafficking

1211 DeLuca Biochemical Sciences Building

4-5 p.m.

Sustainable Energy Seminar Series

Solar PV: Overview and Materials Options

Wisconsin Energy Institute

Tuesday, November 11, 2014
Wednesday, November 12, 2014

Noon-1 p.m.

Noon @ the Niche

A CRISPR approach to genome editing

3-D Niche, Discovery Building

Thursday, November 13, 2014

3:30 p.m.

Biology Colloquium

Deciphering sixty years of environmental data to understand recent change in the world's oldest lake - Lake Baikal, Siberia

B302 Birge Hall

Friday, November 14, 2014

4 p.m.

Neuroscience & Public Policy Seminar By Jenell Johnson, Departments of Communication Arts

A Lightning Rod Issue: The Neurobiology of Violence and the U.S. Campaign Against Psychosurgery, 1970-1973

Biotechnology Auditorium, Room 1111, Genetics-Biotechnology Center Building

Monday, November 17, 2014

4-5 p.m.

Sustainable Energy Seminar Series

Organic Chromophores for Optoelectronic Devices

Wisconsin Energy Institute

Tuesday, November 18, 2014

9 a.m.

Continuing Studies

Alcohol and Drug Problems in Late Life

Pyle Center, 702 Langdon St

Wednesday, November 19, 2014
Thursday, November 20, 2014

3:30 p.m.

Biology Colloquium

Toward understanding the determinants of plant biodiversity and ecosystem functioning in restored tallgrass prairies

B302 Birge Hall

Monday, November 24, 2014
Tuesday, November 25, 2014

Noon-1 p.m.

Chaos and Complex Systems Seminar

Mechanoreceptors and Laryngeal Motor Control-Why Such a Touchy Subject?

4274 Chamberlin Hall

Sunday, November 30, 2014

2 p.m.

Once Upon a Christmas Cheery, In the Lab of Shakhashiri

A special 45th anniversary event

Wisconsin Union Theater

Monday, December 01, 2014

3:30 p.m.

Contemporary Biochemistry

Mitochondrial Movement and Clearance and Why it Matters to Neurons

1211 DeLuca Biochemical Sciences Building

4-5 p.m.

Sustainable Energy Seminar Series

Nuclear and Solar Energy Systems Using Supercritical Pressure Carbon Dioxide Cycles

Wisconsin Energy Institute

Tuesday, December 02, 2014

11 a.m.-noon

Wednesday, December 03, 2014
Thursday, December 04, 2014

3:30 p.m.

Biology Colloquium

Unraveling Mysteries of Hibernation: Basic Science to Biomedical Applications

B302 Birge Hall