Science

Monday, January 23, 2017
Wednesday, January 25, 2017

10:30 a.m.-11:30 p.m.

Cancer Biology Seminar

Viewing Life on the Edge: HTLV-1 Particle Biogenesis by Live-Cell Imaging and Cryoelectron Microscopy/Tomography

1345 Health Sciences Learning Center

7 p.m.

Wednesday Nite @ The Lab

"Inspiring Creativity at the Interface of Science, Arts, and Letters " by Prof. Richard Burgess, Wisconsin Acadamy of Sciences, Arts and Letters

1111 Genetics-Biotechnology Center Building

Thursday, January 26, 2017

9 a.m.-11:30 p.m.

The Hegemony of Archaeological Cartography

Arboretum Winter Enrichment Lecture

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

Friday, January 27, 2017

7-8 a.m.

Grand Rounds

Various Visual Science and Ophthalmology Topics

1325 Health Sciences Learning Center

Saturday, January 28, 2017

9 a.m.-noon

Ecological Restoration Work Party

Arboretum Core Area and Curtis Prairie

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

Sunday, January 29, 2017

1-2:30 p.m.

Winter Wonders

Arboretum Walk

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

Wednesday, February 01, 2017

10:30-11:30 a.m.

Cancer Biology Seminar

How Telomeres Solve the End-Protection Problem

1345 Health Sciences Learning Center

Thursday, February 02, 2017

9-11:30 a.m.

Wisconsin's Native Reptiles and Amphibians

Arboretum Winter Enrichment Lecture

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

Friday, February 03, 2017

7-8 a.m.

Grand Rounds

Various Visual Science and Ophthalmology Topics

1325 Health Sciences Learning Center

Saturday, February 04, 2017

9 a.m.-noon

Ecological Restoration Work Party

Arboretum Wingra Oak Savanna

Meet at Wingra Springs parking lot (Arbor Dr, off Monroe St), UW-Madison Arboretum

10 a.m.-noon

Saturday Science at Discovery

Badger Athletics: Building Brains Moving Bodies

Town Center, Discovery Building

Sunday, February 05, 2017

1-2:30 p.m.

Winter Birds

Arboretum Walk

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

Thursday, February 09, 2017

9-11:30 a.m.

Science Day: Current Research at the Arboretum

Arboretum Special Event

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

Friday, February 10, 2017

7-8 a.m.

Grand Rounds

Various Visual Science and Ophthalmology Topics

1325 Health Sciences Learning Center

Noon

John D. Wiley Seminar Series

TBA

Waisman Center

Saturday, February 11, 2017

9 a.m.-noon

Ecological Restoration Work Party

Arboretum Core Area and Curtis Prairie

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

6:30-8 p.m.

The Snow Moon

Arboretum Night Walk

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

Sunday, February 12, 2017

1-2:30 p.m.

Life in Winter

Arboretum Walk

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

1:30-2:30 p.m.

Animal Tracks

Arboretum Family Walk

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

Thursday, February 16, 2017

9 a.m.

The River that Flows Uphill

Arboretum Winter Enrichment Lecture

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

Friday, February 17, 2017

All day

Making the Connection 2017

Environmental Health in Wisconsin

1345 Health Sciences Learning Center

7-8 a.m.

Grand Rounds

Various Visual Science and Ophthalmology Topics

1325 Health Sciences Learning Center

Noon

John D. Wiley Seminar Series

"Molecular and Cell Mechanisms of Fragile X Syndrome Pathophysiology"

Waisman Center

4-6 p.m.

Introduction to Geographic Information Systems (GIS)

Mapping Census data with ArcGIS 10.3

380 Science Hall

Saturday, February 18, 2017

9 a.m.-noon

Ecological Restoration Work Party

Arboretum Grady Tract

Meet at Grady Tract parking lot (SE corner Seminole Hwy & W Beltline Frontage Rd), UW-Madison Arboretum

11 a.m.

Wisconsin Women's Basketball vs. Rutgers

Play4Kay Think Pink Breast Cancer Awareness Game

The Kohl Center

Sunday, February 19, 2017

1-2:30 p.m.

Winter Sampler

Arboretum Walk

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

Monday, February 20, 2017

9 a.m.

Skin Disease Research Center Seminar

"Microscale Tools Enable Functional and Mechanistic Insights in Cancer"

341 Bardeen Medical Laboratories

Tuesday, February 21, 2017

11 a.m.-noon

FRESH Seminar

Impact of Microorganisms on Ruminant Animal Health and Production

6201 Microbial Sciences

Thursday, February 23, 2017

9-11:30 a.m.

Assessing Wisconsin's Beetle Diversity (Coleoptera)

Arboretum Winter Enrichment Lecture

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

Friday, February 24, 2017

7-8 a.m.

Grand Rounds

Various Visual Science and Ophthalmology Topics

1325 Health Sciences Learning Center

Noon

John D. Wiley Seminar Series

"The Development of Executive Function"

Waisman Center

Saturday, February 25, 2017

9 a.m.-noon

Ecological Restoration Work Party

Arboretum Core Area and Curtis Prairie

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

Sunday, February 26, 2017

1-2:30 p.m.

The End of Winter

Arboretum Walk

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

1:30-3:30 p.m.

Patterns in Winter Trees

Arboretum Family Nature Program

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

Monday, February 27, 2017

9 a.m.

Skin Disease Research Center Seminar

"Challenges and opportunities in fungal skin diseases and the unexpected bat epidemic caused by the white-nose syndrome fungus"

341 Bardeen Medical Laboratories

Thursday, March 02, 2017

9-11:30 a.m.

The Human-Wildlife Connection: Why We Pay to Understand

Arboretum Winter Enrichment Lecture

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

Friday, March 03, 2017

7-8 a.m.

Grand Rounds

Various Visual Science and Ophthalmology Topics

1325 Health Sciences Learning Center

Saturday, March 04, 2017

9:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m.

Madison Reads Leopold

Arboretum Special Event

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum