Lectures

Monday, December 05, 2016

Noon-1 p.m.

Population Health Sciences Monday Seminar Series

Charles A. Nelson III, PhD, Professor of Pediatrics and Neuroscience, Harvard Medical School and Richard David Scott Chair in Pediatric Developmental Medicine Research, Boston Children’s Hospital

1345 Health Sciences Learning Center

Tuesday, December 06, 2016

Noon-1 p.m.

Chaos and Complex Systems Seminar

2016 Polling in Nation and State: A scorecard

4274 Chamberlin Hall

Wednesday, December 07, 2016

10:30-11:30 a.m.

Cancer Biology Seminar

Human Genes Required for Kaposi's Sarcoma-Associated Herpesvirus-Induced B Cell Survival and Proliferation

1345 Health Sciences Learning Center

7 p.m.

Wednesday Nite @ The Lab

"Finding Lt. Fazekas" by Prof. Leslie Eisenberg, Dept. of Anthropology; Dr. Ryan Wubben, Med Flight; and Prof. Tom Zinnen, UW Biotech Center and UWEX

1111 Genetics-Biotechnology Center Building

Thursday, December 08, 2016

3:30 p.m.

Biology Colloquium: David Moeller

Speciation and mating system evolution in Clarkia

B302 Birge Hall

3:30 p.m.

Ancient DNA View of Human Origins

International Harry Steenbock Lecture in Biochemistry

1125 DeLuca Biochemistry Building

Friday, December 09, 2016

Noon-1:30 p.m.

Center for Southeast Asian Studies Friday Forum Lecture Series

Jeffrey Gale Williamson, "A Century of Philippine Spatial Inequality"

206 Ingraham Hall

4 p.m.

Of Neandertals, Denisovans, and Modern Humans

International Harry Steenbock Lecture in Biochemistry

Wisconsin Historical Society

Monday, December 12, 2016

Noon-1 p.m.

Population Health Sciences Monday Seminar Series

Rourke O’Brien, PhD, Assistant Professor, La Follotte School of Public Affairs, University of Wisconsin-Madison

1345 Health Sciences Learning Center

Tuesday, December 13, 2016

7-8 p.m.

Guest Presentation at Space Place

The Great American Eclipse: August 2017

Space Place, 2300 S. Park St.

Wednesday, December 14, 2016

8:45-9:45 a.m.

3:30 p.m.

Laboratory of Genetics Fall Colloquium

Judith Kimble – University of Wisconsin, Madison – Biochemistry

1111 Genetics-Biotechnology Center Building

7 p.m.

Wednesday Nite @ The Lab

"Genetically Engineered Crops (or GMOs): Fact or Fiction" by Prof. Richard Amasino, Dept. of Biochemistry

1111 Genetics-Biotechnology Center Building

Thursday, December 15, 2016

3:30 p.m.

Biology Colloquium: Lee Dugatkin

Altruism writ small: E. coli and antibiotic resistance

B302 Birge Hall

Wednesday, December 21, 2016

7 p.m.

Wednesday Nite @ The Lab

"Bubonic Plague in Central Asia" by Prof. Uli Schamiloglu, Dept. of Languages and Cultures of Asia

1111 Genetics-Biotechnology Center Building

Thursday, January 05, 2017

9-11:30 a.m.

Thursday, January 12, 2017

9-11:30 a.m.

Tales from the Arboretum’s Gardens

Arboretum Winter Enrichment Lecture

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

Thursday, January 19, 2017

9-11:30 a.m.

Thursday, January 26, 2017

9-11:30 a.m.

The Hegemony of Archaeological Cartography

Arboretum Winter Enrichment Lecture

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

Thursday, February 02, 2017

9-11:30 a.m.

Wisconsin's Native Reptiles and Amphibians

Arboretum Winter Enrichment Lecture

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

Thursday, February 09, 2017

9-11:30 a.m.

Science Day: Current Research at the Arboretum

Arboretum Special Event

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

Thursday, February 16, 2017

9-11:30 a.m.

The River that Flows Uphill

Arboretum Winter Enrichment Lecture

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

Saturday, February 18, 2017

11 a.m.

Wisconsin Women's Basketball vs. Rutgers

Play4Kay Think Pink Breast Cancer Awareness Game

The Kohl Center

Thursday, February 23, 2017

9-11:30 a.m.

Assessing Wisconsin's Beetle Diversity (Coleoptera)

Arboretum Winter Enrichment Lecture

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

Thursday, March 02, 2017

9-11:30 a.m.

The Human-Wildlife Connection: Why We Pay to Understand

Arboretum Winter Enrichment Lecture

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

Thursday, March 09, 2017