Science

Wednesday, June 28, 2017

8 a.m.-noon

2017 Annual Meeting of the American Society for Virology

Madison ASV meeting (2017)

Monona Terrace Convention Center

7 p.m.

Wednesday Nite @ The Lab

"Supercomputers to Model Tornadoes" by Leigh Orf, Cooperative Institute for Meteorological Satellite Studies

1111 Genetics-Biotechnology Center Building

Friday, June 30, 2017

1-6 p.m.

Alzheimer's Disease & Related Disorders Research Day

Sponsored by the Wisconsin Alzheimer’s Disease Research Center

H.F. DeLuca Forum, Discovery Building

Saturday, July 01, 2017

9 a.m.-noon

Ecological Restoration Work Party

Arboretum Wingra Oak Savanna

Meet at Wingra Springs parking lot (Arbor Dr, off Monroe St), UW-Madison Arboretum

10 a.m.-noon

Saturday Science at Discovery

More Than Fireworks: Science from 1776 to Today

Town Center, Discovery Building

8 p.m.

Science is Fun

With Bassam Shakhashiri and Friends at the Memorial Union Terrace

Memorial Union Terrace

Sunday, July 02, 2017

1-2:30 p.m.

A Prairie Birthday

Arboretum Walk

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

Wednesday, July 05, 2017

7 p.m.

Wednesday Nite @ The Lab

"The Newly-Proposed Evolutionary Tree of Dinosaurs" by David Lovelace, Dept of Geosciences

1111 Genetics-Biotechnology Center Building

Saturday, July 08, 2017

7 a.m.

Bird Banding Demonstration

Kemp Natural Resources Station, Woodruff

9 a.m.-noon

Ecological Restoration Work Party

Arboretum Core Area and Curtis Prairie

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

1-3 p.m.

Medicinal Plants

Arboretum Garden Tour

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

Sunday, July 09, 2017

1-3 p.m.

Prairies and Savannas on the Grady Tract

Arboretum Walk

Meet at Grady Tract parking lot (SE corner Seminole Hwy & W Beltline Frontage Rd), UW-Madison Arboretum

1:30-2:30 p.m.

Butterflies Flutter By

Arboretum Family Walk

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

5:30-8 p.m.

18th Annual Greenfield Summer Institute: Jews and Science

Opening Dinner

Fluno Center, 601 University Avenue

8-9:30 p.m.

Midsummer Delights

Arboretum Night Walk

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

Monday, July 10, 2017

9 a.m.-5 p.m.

Tuesday, July 11, 2017
Wednesday, July 12, 2017

9 a.m.-8 p.m.

7 p.m.

Wednesday Nite @ The Lab

"100 Years Ago: The Discovery of Vitamin B and the Discovery of the Link between Iodine & Goiter" by David Nelson, Wisconsin Science Museum

1111 Genetics-Biotechnology Center Building

Thursday, July 13, 2017

5 p.m.

Frontiers in Vision Research

CROSSTALK OF TRANSFORMING GROWTH FACTOR BETA-2 AND TOLL-LIKE RECEPTOR 4 IN THE TRABECULAR MESHWORK

1325 Health Sciences Learning Center

Saturday, July 15, 2017

1-3 p.m.

Street Trees

Arboretum Longenecker Horticultural Gardens Tour

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

Sunday, July 16, 2017

1-2:30 p.m.

Curtis Prairie

Arboretum Walk

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

Wednesday, July 19, 2017

7 p.m.

Plants for Pollinators

Arboretum Garden Tour

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

Saturday, July 22, 2017

9 a.m.-noon

Ecological Restoration Work Party

Arboretum Core Area and Curtis Prairie

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

Sunday, July 23, 2017

1-3 p.m.

Greene Prairie and Grady Knolls

Arboretum Walk

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

Sunday, July 30, 2017

1-2:30 p.m.

The CCC and the Arboretum

Arboretum Walk

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

Wednesday, August 02, 2017

9 a.m.

Saturday, August 05, 2017

9 a.m.-noon

Ecological Restoration Work Party

Arboretum Wingra Oak Savanna

Meet at Wingra Springs parking lot (Arbor Dr, off Monroe St), UW-Madison Arboretum

8-9:30 p.m.

Full Sturgeon Moon

Arboretum Night Walk

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

Sunday, August 06, 2017

1-3 p.m.

Grady Oak Savanna and Greene Prairie

Arboretum Walk

Meet at Grady Tract parking lot (SE corner Seminole Hwy & W Beltline Frontage Rd), UW-Madison Arboretum

Wednesday, August 09, 2017

7 p.m.

Native Grasses

Arboretum Native Plant Garden Tour

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

Saturday, August 12, 2017

9 a.m.-noon

Ecological Restoration Work Party

Arboretum Core Area and Curtis Prairie

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

Sunday, August 13, 2017

1-2:30 p.m.

Curtis Prairie

Arboretum Walk

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

1:30-2:30 p.m.

"Pond”-ering Life

Arboretum Family Walk

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

Sunday, August 20, 2017

1-2:30 p.m.

Wingra Oak Savanna Restoration and Monroe Street Environs

Arboretum Walk

Meet at Wingra Springs parking lot (Arbor Dr, off Monroe St), UW-Madison Arboretum

Saturday, August 26, 2017

9 a.m.-noon

Ecological Restoration Work Party

Arboretum Core Area and Curtis Prairie

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

Sunday, August 27, 2017

1-3 p.m.

Grasslands on the Grady Tract

Arboretum Walk

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum

1:30-3:30 p.m.

Listen to the Buzzzzz of the Prairie

Arboretum Family Nature Program

Meet at Visitor Center, UW-Madison Arboretum